Loughmore (@1.16) vs Aherlow Gaels (@5.0)

Our Prediction:

Loughmore will win

Loughmore – Aherlow Gaels Match Prediction | 11-09-2019 15:00

Aherlow Gaels scored all bar one of their five first half points from play with Thomas Hanley, Thomas Fahey and Bernard OBrien to the fore. While Loughmore had their noses in front, they were doing so through McGraths frees with the goal the only score they managed from play in the half, despite having plenty of promising attacks.

Aherlow did manage four points in the final 10 minutes as they played with great spirit but the fact that star man Barry Grogan was kept scoreless by man of the match John Meagher ensured Loughmores place in Tipperary GAA history. Leading 1-4 to 0-5 at the break, Loughmore took control early in the second half with an Aidan McGrath point being followed by John McGraths goal as Aherlow keeper Shane Leonard and defender Sean Mullins failed to deal with the dipping 45-metre delivery which went all the way to the net. Forced to take extra risks to get back into the game, Aherlow left themselves exposed at the back, with Loughmores penetrating runs yielding frees which McGrath converted. The midfielder was also involved in the move for Evan Sweeneys goal in the 50th minute.

Users are reminded that they are fully responsible for their own created content and their own posts, comments and submissions and fully and effectively warrant and indemnify Journal Media in relation to such content and their ability to make such content, posts, comments and submissions available. Journal Media does not control and is not responsible for the content of external websites. Journal Media does not control and is not responsible for user created content, posts, comments, submissions or preferences.

Our Writers

AHERLOW GAELS: S Leonard; M O Brien, S Russell, E O Meara; M Hanley (0-1), J Hennessy, S Mullins; S Grogan (0-1), T Fahey (0-2); T Hanley (0-2), B Grogan, L Coskeran; S Cunningham, C Dillon, B O Brien (0-3, 1f); Subs: M Russell for Dillon; B Hanley for Mullins; A Leahy for Coskeran; S Kiely for Cunningham; T O Donnell for S Russell.

Subs: D Bourke for Webster (22 mins), W Eviston for Kennedy (52 mins), T McGrath for A McGrath (56 mins), S Hennessy for C Hennessy (59 mins).AHERLOW GAELS: S Leonard; S Russell, J Hennessy, E OMeara; M Hanley (0-1), M OBrien, S Mullins; S Grogan (0-1), T Fahey (0-2); T Hanley (0-2), B Grogan, L Coskeran; S Cunningham, C Dillon, B OBrien (0-3, 0-1 free). LOUGHMORE/CASTLEINEY: D Brennan; T Long, J Meagher, L Egan; T King (1-0), C McGrath, J Ryan; N McGrath, J McGrath (1-9, 1-7 frees, 0-1 45); D Kennedy, A McGrath (0-1), L McGrath; C Hennessy; M Webster, E Sweeney (1-0). Subs: M Russell for Dillon (16 mins), B Hanley for Mullins (38 mins), S Kiely for Cunningham , A Leahy for Coskeran (48 mins), T ODonoghue for S Russell (58 mins).Referee: D OMahoney (Ardfinnan).

Loughmore-Castleiney made history at Semple Stadium yesterday when recording a comfortable 10-point win over Aherlow Gaels to become the first club in Tipperary to complete a county senior double. Loughmore-Castleiney had earlier won the hurling crown by defeating ire g, Nenagh, and their ability to create goal chances and take them, was the difference between the sides as the champions claimed the trophy for the 13th time and first since 2004.

This website and its associated newspaper are full participating members of the Press Council of Ireland and supports the Office of the Press Ombudsman. This scheme in addition to defending the freedom of the press, offers readers a quick, fair and free method of dealing with complaints that they may have in relation to articles that appear on our pages. To contact the Office of the Press Ombudsman go to www.pressombudsman.ie or www.presscouncil.ie Tipperary Live provides news, events and sport features from the Tipperary area. For the best up to date information relating to Tipperary and the surrounding areas visit us at Tipperary Live regularly or bookmark this page.

Tipperary gardai warn public to not leave valuables in cars after wallet theft in rural community

Captain Derek Bourke admitted afterwards that it was impossible to avoid the prospect of the double in the build-up to the game. It was very hard not to think of it.

Momentum, therefore, could be key here - both of the opening round games take place on Sunday, May 7th: Drom & Inch take on divisional rivals JK Bracken's in Templetuohy (6pm) while Kilsheelan-Kilcash and Killenaule meet in Monroe (7pm). Group one appears wide open with JK Bracken's, Kilsheelan-Kilcash, Drom & Inch and Killenaule all sure to have their eye on a spot in the concluding stages of the championship.